IPL 2021 Schedule
IPL 2021 Squad
IPL 2021 Prediction
The IPL 2021 or Indian Premier League is a professional league where teams play 20-20 cricket matches against one another. Usually, this league takes place between March and May every year, where 8 teams, each representing 8 different cities of India, play against each other. BCCI, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, founded IPL T20 in 2008, and so far, 12 seasons have taken place. The IPL T20 league is one of the most popular cricket tournaments in the world and its format is based on a round-robin group and knockout format.


As per the current format, 8 IPL T20 teams play against each other twice during the league phase. At the end of the league phase, the top 4 teams enter the knockout stage. In the first qualifying match, the top 2 teams play against each other. Another eliminator match between teams 3 and 4 takes place. The winner of the first match goes straight to the final. The losing team gets another chance to make it to the final by playing another qualifying match against the winner of the match between the third and fourth teams. The winner of this match reaches the finals. Finally, the final match decides the IPL T20 winner of the season.


The IPL T20 teams must have 18 and 25 players, with no more than 8 foreign players.
The total salary of the whole team must not go beyond ₹850 million. Players under the Under-19 category must have played first-class or List A cricket before being picked for an IPL team.

In the playing 11, a team cannot have more than 4 foreign players. Usually, the contract term for a player is one year and if the franchise wants, they can extend the contract term by 1 or 2 years.

In IPL 2020, 8 teams have participated in the IPL tournament and no additional teams have been added in the IPL 2021 season. Currently, 8 teams are expected to participate in IPL T20 including:

  • Mumbai Indians
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
Mumbai Indians were the champions of the 2020 season, and so far out of 13 IPL seasons, they have won the title most number of times, i.e., Fifth times. IPL 2020 was their fifth time.
Log Out
Are you sure you want to log out ?